Jaguar Medallion Society Inaugural Class of 2023

Jaguar Senior Medallion Society Honorees

Jaguar Senior Medallion Society Award:

The Jaguar Senior Medallion Society Induction Ceremony is held annually to recognize graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence through achievement in scholarship and engagement in activities at the University of South Alabama. Through their academic achievement and involvement within the university community, they have demonstrated outstanding student leadership and jaguar pride. The purpose of this event is to celebrate the accomplishments of student leaders and to inspire other students to achieve greatness.   


This event brings the university community members together to recognize student leaders for their achievements and contributions to the university community. This is an open event which students, faculty, and staff are invited to attend. Jaguar Senior Medallion Society inductees may be representative of several categories including academics, student engagement, citizenship, first generation, and athletics. In addition to the aforementioned categories, there are three special awards presented that will include a $500 monetary gift. The special awards will include the following: 

  • Disability and Accessibility Champion Award – Are awarded to an individual who has worked to change the perceptions of disability and accessibility. 
  • Excellence in Diversity Award – Are awarded to an inductee who has demonstrated a commitment to furthering diversity, equity, and inclusion at the university. 
  • Overcomer Award – Awarded to an inductee who has encountered significant obstacles and challenges, but has persevered and overcome all of the adversity to successfully complete their academic program. 

Nominating Process:

Each spring, the University community can nominate students who meet the established criteria by completing an application based upon the specific award category. Students who graduate in May of each year and December of the previous year are eligible to be nominated for an award. The nominating process is facilitated electronically. Nominations should include the following information:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Nominee’s phone number
  • Description of why the student deserves to be recognized
  • Name of person completing the form
  • Phone number of person completing the form

The selection committee meets to review the submitted nomination forms and to determine the winners. The committee determines the senior medallion society inductees based upon the quality of nominations as well as additional established criteria. The committee is responsible for notifying the inductees and inviting them to the ceremony.

There will be a Hall of Fame Display.

Jaguar Senior Medallion Award:

Recognizing the Inaugural Jaguar Senior Medallion Society Honorees

Click on Jaguar Senior Medallion Society News to see the complete news release.

Grace Abernathy



Grace Abernathy is a Professional Health Science major from Sylacauga, Alabama.


Camille Bonura



Camille Bonura is a Hospitality and Tourism Management major from Enterprise, Alabama.


Jamie Carpenter



Jamie Carpenter, a Communications Broadcast Journalism major with a minor in General Business, from Brookfield, Wisconsin.


Sydney Downes



Sydney Downes is a Nursing major from Vestavia Hills, Alabama.


Noel Godang



Noel Godang is a Biomedical Sciences major with minors in Music and Biology from Mobile, Alabama.


Sydney Green



Sydney Green is a Professional Health Science major from Niceville, Florida.


Rachel Iweka



Rachel Iweka is a Geography major from Mobile, Alabama.


Josephine Jalkh



Josephine Jalkh is a Biomedical Sciences major from Mobile, Alabama.


Lance Johnson



Lance Johnson, a Business Administration major with a concentration in Human Resource Management and a minor in Marketing, from Saraland, Alabama.


Gabrielle Jones



Gabrielle Jones, a Health Science major with a concentration in Healthcare Management/Pre-Occupational Therapy, from Hueytown, Alabama.


Leah Kunneth



Leah Kunneth is a Psychology major with a Biomedical Sciences minor from Naperville, Illinois.


Annie Mascia



Annie Mascia is a Psychology major with a minor in English from Birmingham, Alabama.


Ivy Nguyen



Ivy Nguyen is a Biomedical Sciences major from Mobile, Alabama.


Richard Nguyen



Richard Nguyen is a Biology major from Orange Beach, Alabama.


Mariam Omar



Mariam Omar is a Chemical Engineering major from Mobile, Alabama.


Savan Patel



Savan Patel, a Biomedical Sciences major with a double minor in Biology and General Business, from Lucedale, Mississippi.


Ashleigh Taylor



Ashleigh Taylor is a Professional Health Science major from Prattville, Alabama.


Melanie Watson



Melanie Watson is a General Management major from Helena, Alabama.


Clement Williams



Clement Williams, a Criminal Justice major with a Marine Science minor, from Mobile, Alabama.


The following inductees in this year’s class will each receive a $500 award in recognition of their specific service and or challenges:

Disability and Accessibility Champion Award Recipient

Ansley Majewsk



Ansley Majewski is a Therapeutic Recreation major from Pensacola, Florida.


Liam White



Liam White is an English and Spanish double major from West Blocton, Alabama.

Excellence in Diversity Award Recipient

Kaya Wilkinson



Kaya Wilkinson is a Professional Health Sciences major from Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Overcomer Award Recipients

Erin Brown



Erin Brown is an Exercise Science major from Mobile, Alabama.


Jeremy Perryman



Jeremy Perryman, a Music Education: Instrumental major with a minor in History, from Mobile, Alabama.